top of page

Yelawolf Shares High Octane Video for "Flashlight" Out Now

July 5, 2024 (Los Angeles, CA) -- Today, Alabama-born and Nashville-based multiplatinum chart-topping artist and entrepreneur Yelawolf uncovers the high-octane music video for his new single “Flashlight” out now. Watch HERE. Of course, it graces the tracklisting of his acclaimed double-LP, War Story – (Part 1) Michael Wayne & (Part 2) Trunk Muzik 4ever available via Slumerican.


In the clip, Yelawolf paces back and forth as he prepares for a country street race surrounded by onlookers. Donning coveralls with the slogan “The Losers Win Again” and a red beret, he remains battle-ready as he takes the wheel of a classic car. The race kicks into high gear with explosive results only to repeat again on-screen. In between, a young boy controls the encounter with an old school joystick in front of a classic TV set. The words “Game Over” cap off the clip in ominous fashion. He levels up his vision once more with “Flashlight.

Cooked up by WLPWR, guttural screams bookend the track’s frenetic and frantic beat. Yelawolf bodies the production with an unstoppable and indomitable flow as he proclaims, “But y’all know how it goes. It ain’t the story that makes a man. And this man, this man is a story man. Meanwhile, he promises, “I’ll be the darkness, holding a flashlight.

This summer, War Story has garnered some of the highest praise of Yelawolf’s career. UPROXX declared, “You know who is an absolutely underrated pioneer? Yelawolf, going on to applaud how he “mostly maintains the same tightly wound rap attack we’ve known him for, with a few gritty pop plays sprinkled in.”HotNewHipHop hailed it as “one of his most expansive and ambitious projects yet, and Nashville Lifestyles touted it among “4 Albums To Plug This Month,  elaborating further, “Ignoring trends to mix gritty, Southern-fried gangstas trap with funky flexes of rock and EDM, friends like Jelly Roll and more go to battle for Nashville’s favorite homegrown hustler. In a “4-out-of-5 star review, Legends Never Die proclaimed, “The first disc Michael Wayne has to be amongst the most introspectively intimate music of his career yet & the other Trunk Muzik 4ever continues the legacy of the Trunk Muzik series that resonate with the signature style that fans have come to love."

Popping up everywhere, he continues to make the rounds. The Tennessean profiled him, and he sat down for interviews with HipHopDX and more. Simultaneously, he just shared the visual for “Legend,” generating 1.5 million YouTube views. Watch it HERE.

War Story – (Part 1) Michael Wayne & (Part 2) Trunk Muzik 4ever has arrived as Yelawolf’s magnum opus. GRAMMY® Award winner Malay [Frank Ocean, Alicia Keys] helmed the production for Michael Wayne, while WLPWR [Wiz Khalifa, Eminem, Travis Barker] produced Trunk Muzik 4ever. Various special guests include Killer MikeJelly RollCaskey and Struggle Jennings.

With over 1 billion streams on Pandora, over 2 billion YouTube views and over 3 million monthly listeners on Spotify, Yelawolf continues to prove his movement cannot be stopped. 

 Check out the full album tracklisting below and get your WAR STORY Vinyl HERE

In advance of the album release, Yelawolf uncovered the opening track of Michael Wayne“Trailer In The Sky” featuring Jelly Roll. It has already exploded with over 1 million Spotify streams and 2 million YouTube views on the visualizer. Watch it HERE. It earned plugs from Salad Days Magazine and The Hype Magazine. It’s just one facet of this seismic body of work and continues a long tradition of collaboration between Yelawolf and Jelly Roll, it marks their fifth track together following “Unlive”—which adorned Jelly Roll’schart-topping 2023 blockbuster Whitsitt Chapel.

It landed in the wake of the WLPWR-produced “New Me,” which has already amassed over 1 million Spotify streams and 3 million YouTube views on the music video. Prior to that, the albums main single, “Make You Love Me,” which has over 1 million Spotify streams and 5 million YouTube views on the music video, garnered widespread attention from HipHopDX,  HotNewHipHop. and others. Radio host Bootleg Kev personally gave the song its broadcast premiere on his syndicated radio show where he and  Yelawolf sat down for a deep interview

Back in February, Yelawolf kickstarted his WAR STORY album campaign with the hard-hitting “Everything.” The latter has already gathered north of 2 million YouTube views on the music video in addition to nearly 1 million Spotify streams. Listen HERE and watch the video HERE.

Last fall, he initially heralded this chapter during an intimate secret listening session. SPIN professed, “One thing is immediately clear—Yelawolf never abandoned his hip-hop roots. The culture is part of his DNA, pumping through his veins and busting at the seams to get out.”

Yelawolf is ready for WAR in 2024…

 War Story Tracklist:

(Part 1) Michael Wayne 

1. Yelawolf, Jelly Roll - Trailer In The Sky

2. Yelawolf - Glasses Up

3. Yelawolf - Make You Love Me

4. Yelawolf - Juliana

5. Yelawolf - Marijuana

6. Yelawolf - Goodbye Mornin

7. Yelawolf - Cars

8. Yelawolf, DJ Paul - Lookin Over

9. Yelawolf, Struggle Jennings - Farewell

10. Yelawolf - Talkin

11. Yelawolf - Cookin Cocaine

12. Yelawolf - Legend

(Part 2) Trunk Muzik 4ever 

1. Yelawolf - New Me

2. Yelawolf, Caskey - Bad News

3. Yelawolf, Killer Mike - Box Chevy 8 [feat. Bub Styles]

4. Yelawolf - Another Drink

5. Yelawolf - Barn Fire

6. Yelawolf - Flashlight

7. Yelawolf - Bang Bang Bobby

8. Yelawolf - Tonight

9. Yelawolf - Everything

10. Yelawolf - Bad Motherfucker [feat. Presley Vaughn]

11. Yelawolf - Work

12. Yelawolf - Ticket

13. Yelawolf - Put Em Up


Continuing a wild ride from humble beginnings in Gadsden, Alabama to the forefront of popular culture, Yelawolf certainly has a lot to say. The Nashville-based multiplatinum chart-topping artist, entrepreneur, and Slumerican Founder has consistently asserted himself as an outlier and outlaw without comparison. He catalyzed his breakthrough via Radioactive (rated a coveted “4.5-out-of-5 stars” by The Source). The gold-certified Love Story bowed at #3 on the Billboard 200 highlighted by platinum singles “Till It’s Gone” and “Best Friend” [feat. Eminem]. He maintained his momentum with Trial By Fire and Ghetto Cowboy, spawning the platinum-certified “You and Me.” He emerged as the rare artist versatile enough to deliver The Slumdon Bridge EP with Ed Sheeran and Psycho White EP with Travis BarkerA$AP Rocky, Big Boi, blink-182, Eminem, Juicy J, Korn, and Tech N9ne have sought him out for verses. His albums have welcomed Flea of Red Hot Chili Peppers, Wynonna Judd, Kid Rock, Killer Mike, Raekwon, and Diplo. Frequent collaborator Jelly Roll pledged his allegiance with Slumerican ink! Plus, Slumerican’s catalog expanded with releases by DJ Paul and Struggle Jennings. In 2022, he dropped his full-length rock LP, Sometimes Y, with multi-GRAMMY® Award-winning producer and artist Shooter Jennings. Yelawolf has built Slumerican into a worldwide merchandise empire and his Creek Water Whiskey into a nationally distributed spirits brand, performed on Jimmy Kimmel LIVE!, guested on MTV’s Ridiculousness, appeared in Peanut Butter Falcon, and toured with Deftones and more. However, he ups the ante in 2024 with more to come.

1,703 views0 comments


bottom of page